facebook
Deutsch English
LOGIN
   

 




 

Since the beginnings of micro-light flying

COMCO IKARUS GmbH has been the largest manufacturer of aerodynamically controlled micro-light aircraft in Germany.

1977 to 1979
1977 COMCO IKARUS GmbH had become one of the largest producers of hang gliders. From 1977 to 1979, all German cross-country records were set by IKARUS hang gliders.

1982
Up until 1982, 4 different types were developed and a total of 2000 sold world-wide. From the start of its aircraft production activities, the company attempted to and succeeded in setting new safety standards. This included the development of the first dynamic test rig for hang gliders, which is used today at home and abroad by various testing institutions.

In 1982, SHERPA, the first motorised IKARUS micro-light aircraft was ready for serial production. At the same time, the IKARUS-FRS- Flight rescue system, the first rocket-powered flight rescue system in the world, which had been developed simultaneously, was also ready for use. The IKARUS rescue system - since copied by the Americans, Czechs and Russians - is able to convey on a parachute a micro-light aircraft and its occupants safely to the ground after a mid-air emergency even at low altitudes.

The good and safe flight characteristics of the SHERPA quickly made it the most flown three-axis controlled micro-light aircraft in Germany.

The increasing demand for faster and more manoeuvrable aircraft quickly led to the development of the FOX, the real predecessor of our still very popular IKARUS C 22, which is available in one of three versions. Despite strong foreign competition, the solidly built IKARUS micro-light aircraft are exported to virtually every country in Europe as well as to the Middle East, South America and Asia.

The fact that the company was originally not located at an airfield proved disadvantageous for its further development. The decision was thus taken to look for an adequate airfield and the Mengen-Hohentengen airfield was ultimately chosen.

1991
Construction work on the first production and office block began in autumn 1991 and by spring 1992, after just a week's interruption due to the move, production began in the 640 sq.m. hall.

Continuous development, consistent improvement, a world-wide reputation for reliability and 45 years experience in the production of micro-light aircraft allow us to expand into new markets.

COMCO IKARUS has decisively contributed to and shaped the development of originally simple sport equipment into modern high-tech micro-light aircraft.

The new IKARUS C 42, an innovative, modern, two-seater micro-light aircraft, sets new standards and is a worthy successor to the IKARUS C 22 which has been successfully produced for 10 years.

We have remained loyal to our German production roots and after virtually all our German rivals have moved production to the Czech Republic, Poland or the Ukraine, COMCO IKARUS is almost the only manufacturer still in Germany.

For a company of our size, extensive investment and the development and rigorous perfection of innovative production techniques were essential in order to compete against cheap-labour countries. At COMCO IKARUS we are proud of the fact that in the past year and against the present trend, we have doubled our work force, created new jobs in Germany and have been able to successfully consolidate our position as market leader with roughly a 35% share of the German market despite competition from 10 well-known manufacturers and about 35 dealers / representatives.

The modern high-tech micro-light aircraft on the market today are safe, low-noise, high-performance, economic and environmentally friendly aircraft. They offer an excellent low-cost alternative to standard aircraft and helicopters. Changes to some regulations which are only valid in Germany could bring an upturn to the relatively young but dynamic micro-light manufacturing sector and thus help to create more stable jobs for the future.

Products C42 B
C42 - the bestseller, meanwhile more than 1200 airplanes delivered worldwide -the bestselling ultralight aircraft in Germany

Maximum fun of flying at a reasonable ratio between price and performance.

An innovative, modern two-seater micro-light aircraft sets the standards. The classic advantages of the ultralight and the standard aircraft categories are combined to produce a fascinating, technically matured machine. The IKARUS C 42 is very popular due to its excellent flight characteristics.

 


   



  


   
Für mehr Freude am Fliegen

facebook
Deutsch English
LOGIN
   

 








Von Anfang an ein Marktführer 

Die COMCO IKARUS GmbH ist von Anbeginn der Ultraleichtfliegerei der größte Hersteller aerodynamisch gesteuerter Ultraleicht- Flugzeuge in Deutschland.

1977 - 1979
1977 war die COMCO IKARUS GmbH einer der großen Flugdrachenhersteller. In den Jahren 1977 - 1979 wurden alle deutschen Streckenrekorde auf IKARUS-Flugdrachen erflogen.

1982
Bis zum Jahr 1982 wurden 4 verschiedene Typen in einer Gesamtstückzahl von 2000 Einheiten weltweit ausgeliefert. Von Beginn der Fluggerätefertigung an bemühte sich das Unternehmen mit Erfolg, in punkto Sicherheit Maßstäbe zu setzten. So wurde unter anderem die erste dynamische Testanlage für Flugdrachen entwickelt, wie sie heute praktisch unverändert im In- und Ausland von den verschiedenen Prüfinstitutionen eingesetzt wird.

1982 war das erste motorgetriebene IKARUS Ultraleichtflugzeug vom Typ SHERPA reif für die Serienfertigung und gleichzeitig stand dafür mit dem parallel dazu entwickelten IKARUS-FRS- FLUGRETTUNGSSYSTEM das weltweit erste raketengetriebene Flugrettungssystem zur Verfügung. Dieses IKARUS Rettungssystem - mittlerweile von Amerikanern, Tschechen und Russen kopiert - ist in der Lage, ein in Luftnot geratenes UL-Flugzeug samt Insassen - selbst aus niedriger Höhe - am Fallschirm sicher zur Erde zu bringen.

Die guten und sicheren Flugeigenschaften des SHERPA machten ihn innerhalb kürzester Zeit zum meistgeflogenen dreiachsgesteuerten Ultraleichtflugzeug Deutschlands.

Die lebhafte Nachfrage nach schnellerem und wendigerem Fluggerät führte schnell zur Entwicklung des FOX, dem eigentlichen Vorläufer unserer in großer Serie gebauten IKARUS C 22, die in 3 verschiedenen Varianten angeboten wurde. Trotz starker ausländischer Konkurrenz werden heute die soliden IKARUS-Ultraleichtflugzeuge in fast alle Länder Europas, wie auch in den Nahen Osten, nach Nord- und Südamerika, Afrika und Asien exportiert.

Für die Entwicklung erwies sich die fehlende Flugplatzanbindung am ursprünglichen Standort als äußerst nachteilig. Bei der Suche nach einem neuen Standort fiel die Wahl auf den Verkehrslandeplatz Mengen-Hohentengen.

1991
Im Herbst 1991 begannen die Erschließungsarbeiten für das erste Produktions- und Bürogebäude.

Seit 1992
Auf 640 qm Fläche konnte im Frühjahr 1992, nach nur einwöchiger Unterbrechung durch den Umzug, die Arbeit aufgenommen werden.

Ständige Weiterentwicklung, konsequente Modellpflege, inzwischen weltweit bekannte Zuverlässigkeit und 45 Jahre Erfahrung im Bau ultraleichter Fluggeräte ermöglichen es uns, auch heute noch auf immer neuen Märkten Fuß zu fassen.

Die Entwicklung vom ursprünglich einfachen Sportgeräte hin zu den heutigen Hightech-Ultraleichtflugzeugen wurde maßgeblich von COMCO IKARUS mitbestimmt und geprägt.

Die neue IKARUS C42, ein innovatives, modernes zweisitziges Reiseflugzeuge setzt neue Maßstäbe und zeigt sich als würdiger Nachfolger des 10 Jahre lang gebauten Erfolgsmodells IKARUS C 22.

Konsequent wurde am Produktionsstandort Deutschland festgehalten. Nachdem heute fast alle anderen deutschen Wettbewerber ihre Produktion nach Tschechien, Polen oder die Ukraine ausgelagert haben, ist COMCO IKARUS der praktisch einzig verbliebene in Deutschland produzierende Hersteller.

Für unsere Betriebsgröße bedeutende Investitionen und die Entwicklung und konsequente Perfektionierung innovativer Fertigungstechnik waren die Voraussetzung, um heute gegen den in Billiglohnländern fertigenden Wettbewerb bestehen zu können. Bei COMCO IKARUS ist man stolz darauf - entgegen der z. Zt. landesweiten Entwicklung - während der letzten Jahre die Mitarbeiterzahl verdoppelt, neue Arbeitsplätze in Deutschland geschaffen und dabei gegenüber 10 namhaften Herstellern und ca. 35 Anbietern insgesamt die Marktführerposition mit rund 35% Marktanteil in Deutschland behauptet zu haben.

Die heute angebotenen Hightech-UL-Flugzeuge sind zu sicheren, leisen, leistungsstarken, wirtschaftlichen und umweltschonenden Flugzeugen entwickelt worden und bieten geradezu ideale Möglichkeiten, um damit im Zuge der heute überall angesagten Sparmaßnahmen eine ganze Palette von Aufgaben zu erledigen, die mit den bisher dafür eingesetzten Flächenflugzeugen und Drehflüglern zu mehrfach höheren Kosten durchgeführt werden. Eine dafür notwendige Änderung einiger nur in Deutschland geltender Vorschriften könnte dem relativ jungen, aber dynamischen Wirtschaftszweig UL-Produktion zu weiterem Aufschwung und damit zur Schaffung weiterer stabiler Arbeitsplätze verhelfen.

 

 

   



   
Für mehr Freude am Fliegen